OUR METHODOLOGY
How we compare bank accounts
compare.cy takes account information published by providers and organises it into one consistent format, so the same fields appear for every account. We do not score or rate accounts. We present stored information and show clearly when a value is not recorded in our data.
Independent
We are not a bank and do not sell accounts.
Maintained
Recorded information is shown with applicable conditions, and missing values are identified rather than guessed.
Information we collect
Account details come from each provider's own public materials: product pages, published fee and tariff schedules, terms and conditions, and other official documents they make available.
Each account is then entered into our database in a structured form: the product itself, its written description, its individual fees, its listed features and its stated eligibility conditions. Only accounts that have been entered and published appear on the site, so coverage is limited to what we have recorded.
How we standardise accounts
Providers describe the same things in different ways. We map their published information onto a fixed set of fields so accounts can be read side by side: account type, whether it can be opened online, whether a debit card is included, recurring maintenance charge, opening deposit, and app availability.
Individual charges are stored as separate fee entries with their own labels, features are stored as individual attributes, and eligibility conditions are stored as their own records. Where a value is not recorded in our data, the field displays as “Not specified” rather than being treated as zero.
How annual costs are shown
The annual cost figure on our cards and detail pages is deliberately narrow. It works like this:
- If a recurring monthly account-maintenance amount is recorded in our data, we multiply it by twelve to show a yearly figure.
- Where that charge is €0, we show “No maintenance fee”, with any stored condition attached to that fee.
- Where no monthly account-maintenance amount is recorded in our data, we show “Not specified”, never €0.
- Conditional fees, separate card variants and age-based charges stay listed individually and are never folded into the annual figure.
- Where debit-card pricing varies by card option, we show “See card options” rather than choosing one price.
This figure is therefore an account-maintenance figure, not a prediction of everything you might pay. Your real cost also depends on how you use the account: cash withdrawals, transfers, currency use and card choices.
Estimated annual account maintenance
€36.00 per year
Excludes card and transaction fees.
Recorded monthly maintenance, shown yearly
Estimated annual account maintenance
No maintenance fee
Excludes card and transaction fees.
Monthly maintenance recorded as €0
Estimated annual account maintenance
Not specified. An account-maintenance amount is not recorded in our data.
Excludes card and transaction fees.
No monthly maintenance amount recorded
Filters and ordering
Filters on the comparison list map directly to stored values: opening method (online opening), monthly fee (no monthly fee, or has a monthly fee), provider type (Cyprus bank, external EU digital bank) and features (multi-currency, mobile app, debit card included, overdraft available). Options inside one group are combined with “or”; separate groups are combined with “and”.
By default, accounts appear in our own editorial listing order: accounts we have flagged as featured first, then a stored display order, then alphabetically by account name. You can change the order to lowest monthly fee or to accounts that can be opened online; accounts with no recorded monthly fee are placed last in fee-based ordering rather than treated as no maintenance fee.
The default order is set by us, not personalised to you, and the list is not an exhaustive record of every account available in Cyprus. It covers the accounts we have published.
Updates and verification
Product records can include provider source links, a recorded source-check date and a separate last-edited date. A public “Sources checked” label appears only when both a valid check date and a provider source URL are stored.
Providers change fees, features and eligibility rules on their own schedule, sometimes with little notice. A value that was accurate when recorded can therefore become out of date. If you spot something that no longer matches a provider's own pages, tell us so we can re-check it.
Important limitations
- The information here is for comparison and general information only. It is not financial, tax or legal advice and is not a recommendation of any account.
- Always confirm current fees, terms, charges and eligibility conditions directly with the provider before applying.
- Account availability and provider terms can change at any time.
- Appearing on compare.cy does not mean an account is available to you. Every application is assessed by the provider, and inclusion here does not guarantee approval.
Frequently asked questions
We estimate a typical year of use from published maintenance, card, ATM and transfer fees. It is an illustrative figure to help you compare, not a quote. Always confirm current terms with the provider.
When a provider has not published a figure, or the figure we hold is out of date, we mark it clearly rather than guessing. An unknown value never counts as a positive in ranking.
Eligibility varies by provider and is checked before numeric ranking. Some accounts are open to non-residents with extra documents; others are residents-only. Each product page states its own rules.
Product records can include a provider source link and a recorded source-check date. Where both are stored, we show a “Sources checked” date. Providers can change information at any time, so confirm current terms directly with them.
Ready to compare accounts?
Apply the methodology above to the published personal current accounts for Cyprus.